Breece Hall, Mike Rose Lead 9 Iowa State Players on College Football America Yearbook’s 2021 Big 12 Preseason Starting Lineup

Iowa State running back Breece Hall and linebacker Mike Rose lead nine Cyclones on the College Football America Yearbook 2021 Big 12 Preseason Starting Lineup, released last month.

Hall became the first Iowa State player to earn unanimous All-America honors after rushing for 1,572 yards to lead the nation. He also rushed for 21 touchdowns and had 23 touchdowns overall. He earned Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Rose was his counterpart on the defensive side of the ball, as he was the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year in 2020. The All-American was the second Iowa State player to earn Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year after finishing with 96 tackles and five interceptions.

Hall and Rose were also both named to the College Football America Yearbook Dream Team’s First Team.

The other seven Cyclones to make the team are:

Quarterback Brock Purdy, an All-Big 12 First Team selection who was a Davey O’Brien and Manning Award semifinalist. He threw for 2,750 yards and 19 touchdowns with nine interceptions, along with rushing for 382 rushing yards and five more scores.

Wide receiver Xavier Hutchinson, A First-Team All-Big 12 selection who was also the Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year. He led the Cyclones with 64 receptions and 771 receiving yards.

Tight end Charlie Kolar, who last year became the first Cyclone to be named a two-time All-American since Troy Davis. Kolar caught 44 passes for 591 yards and seven touchdowns, all of which led the Big 12.

Offensive linemen Derek Schweiger and Colin Newell were two of the best linemen in the Big 12 last season. Newell earned All-Big 12 First-Team honors, while Schweiger earned All-Big 12 Second-Team honors.

Defensive lineman Will McDonald IV set the Iowa State single-season record and led the Big 12 with 10.5 sacks last season, leading to All-Big 12 First-Team honors.

Defensive back Isheem Young was the Big 12 Co-Defensive Freshman of the Year after finishing with 50 tackles in 2020.

Iowa State reached the Big 12 Championship Game last season, before losing to Oklahoma. The Cyclones then won the Fiesta Bowl over Oregon.

The 2021 College Football America Yearbook features seven pages of Big 12 content, including an overall preview of the conference race, a spotlight piece on a stadium, the Big 12 Starting Lineup, all team schedules and a half-page devoted to each program.

2021 College Football America Big 12 Preseason Starting Lineup

(Iowa State players in Bold)

Pos. Player, School, Class


QB Brock Purdy, Iowa State, Sr.

RB Breece Hall, Iowa State, Jr.

RB Leddie Brown, West Virginia, Sr.

WR Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State, Sr.

WR Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech, Jr.

TE Charlie Kolar, Iowa State, Sr.

OL Derek Schweiger, Iowa State, Sr.

OL Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma, Sr.

OL Weston Wright, Texas Tech, Jr.

OL Josh Sills, Oklahoma State, Sr.

C Colin Newell, Iowa State, Sr.


DL Will McDonald IV, Iowa State, Jr.

DL Isaiah Thomas, Oklahoma, Sr.

DL Ochaun Mathis, TCU, Jr.

DL Akheem Mesidor, West Virginia, So.

LB Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma, Jr.

LB Mike Rose, Iowa State, Sr.

LB Terrel Bernard, Baylor, Sr.

DB Isheem Young, Iowa State, So.

DB Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State, Sr.

DB Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, Jr.

DB Jalen Pitre, Baylor, Sr.


PK Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, Jr.

P Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, Jr.

KR D’Shawn Jamison, Texas, Sr.

PR Phillip Brooks, K-State, Jr.

AP Deuce Vaughn, K-State, So.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: