C.J. Stroud Leads O’Brien Award Watch List

C.J. Stroud

Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud leads the Davey O’Brien Award Watch List released on July 19.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 46th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner honoring the winner will be held Monday, Feb. 20, 2023, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Stroud enters 2022 as a Heisman candidate after a 2021 in which he threw for 4,435 yards and 44 touchdowns. He helped the Buckeyes win 11 games and beat Utah in the Rose Bowl.

Stroud is featured in the 2022 College Football America Yearbook.

The College Football America 2022 Yearbook features more than 900 college football teams from the United States and Canada in more than 250 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes dozens of action shots and stadium photos taken by the CFA staff.

2022 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Preseason Watch List

Brennan Armstrong, Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 212, Shelby, Ohio

Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr., 5-11, 190, Blackshear, Ga.

Gerry Bohanon, USF, Sr., 6-3, 221, Earle, Ark.

Logan Bonner, Utah State, Sr., 6-1, 230, Rowlett, Texas

Chase Brice, Appalachian State, Sr., 6-3, 235, Grayson, Ga.

Sean Clifford, Penn State, Sr., 6-2, 212, Cincinnati, Ohio

Malik Cunningham, Louisville, Sr., 6-1, 190, Montgomery, Ala.

Brett Gabbert, Miami (OH), Jr., 6-0, 209, St. Louis, Mo.

Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-11, 204, Mililani, Hawaii

Jake Haener, Fresno State, Sr., 6-1, 210, Danville, Calif.

Jaren Hall, BYU, Jr., 6-1, 205, Spanish Fork, Utah

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 200, Schertz, Texas

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, Jr., 6-1, 208, Charlotte, N.C.

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr., 6-4, 218, Greensboro, N.C.

KJ Jefferson, Arkansas, Jr., 6-3, 242, Sardis, Miss.

Devin Leary, NC State, Jr., 6-1, 215, Sicklerville, N.J.

Will Levis, Kentucky, Sr., 6-3, 232, Madison, Conn.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Jr., 6-3, 210, Indian Trail, N.C.

Tanner McKee, Stanford, Jr., 6-6, 226, Corona, Calif.

Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Sr., 6-3, 218, Waco, Texas

Bo Nix, Oregon, Jr., 6-3, 214, Pinson, Ala.

Aidan O’Connell, Purdue, Sr., 6-3, 210, Long Grove, Ill.

Spencer Rattler, South Carolina, Jr., 6-1, 210, Phoenix, Ariz.

Chris Reynolds, Charlotte, Sr., 5-11, 210, Mocksville, N.C.

Cameron Rising, Utah, Jr., 6-2, 220, Ventura, Calif.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State, Jr., 6-2, 210, Brandon, Miss.

Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State, Sr., 6-1, 210, Denton, Texas

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, Jr., 6-3, 215, Inland Empire, Calif.

Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland, Jr., 5-11, 200, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 205, Las Vegas, Nev.

Payton Thorne, Michigan State, Jr., 6-2, 210, Naperville, Ill.

Clayton Tune, Houston, Sr., 6-3, 215, Carrollton, Texas

Tyler Van Dyke, Miami, So., 6-4, 224, Glastonbury, Conn.

Caleb Williams, USC, So., 6-1, 215, Washington, D.C.

Bryce Young, Alabama, Jr., 6-0, 194, Pasadena, Calif.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: