Will Anderson Jr. Leads Nagurski Award Watch List

Alabama LB Will Anderson

Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. leads the Nagurski Award Watch List released on July 26.

The Nagurski Award is presented annually to the nation’s best defensive player and is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club in partnership with the Football Writers Association of America.

Anderson, the Alabama linebacker who earned consensus All-America status as well as the 2021 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, headlines a trio of returning All-Americans coming off First Team honors. Anderson did it all last year for the College Football Playoff runner-up Crimson Tide, leading the nation in sacks with 17.5 to go with 33.5 tackles for loss and 101 total tackles – 57 solos – in his 15-game season.

Anderson and the Crimson Tide are featured in the 2022 College Football America Yearbook.

The College Football America 2022 Yearbook features more than 900 college football teams from the United States and Canada in more than 250 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes dozens of action shots and stadium photos taken by the CFA staff.

2022 Nagurski Award Preseason Watch List

DE Praise Amaewhule, UTEP

LB Darren Anders, Bowling Green

LB Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

DE Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas State

S Jordan Battle, Alabama

DT Keeanu Benton, Wisconsin

DT Bryan Bresee, Clemson

S CJ Brown, NIU

LB Jack Campbell, Iowa

LB Andre Carter, Army

DT Jalen Carter, Georgia

S Grayson Cash, UAB

S Jalen Catalon, Arkansas

DT Elijah Chatman, SMU

LB KD Davis, North Texas

DE Brandon Dorlus, Oregon

LB Dillon Doyle, Baylor

DE Viliami Fehoko, San Jose State

CB Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi State

DE Isaiah Foskey, Notre Dame

LB Antonio Grier, USF

DE Derick Hall, Auburn

LB Kyle Harmon, San Jose State

DE Zach Harrison, Ohio State

S Xavier Henderson, Michigan State

LB Nick Herbig, Wisconsin

S Ronnie Hickman, Ohio State

DE Jamal Hines, Toledo

CB Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU

DT Siaki Ika, Baylor

S Tanner Ingle, N.C. State

S Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M

S Quindell Johnson, Memphis

LB Mikel Jones, Syracuse

CB Steven Jones Jr., App State

S Brandon Joseph, Notre Dame

DT Calijah Kancey, Pitt

CB Kyu Blu Kelly, Stanford

S Antavioius Lane, Georgia State

CB Darrell Luter, Jr., South Alabama

LB Carlton Martial, Troy

DE Brock Martin, Oklahoma State

DE Ochaun Mathis, Nebraska

LB Caden McDonald, San Diego State

DE Will McDonald IV, Iowa State

S Patrick McMorris, San Diego State

CB Riley Moss, Iowa

DE Myles Murphy, Clemson

DT Myles Murphy, North Carolina

DT PJ Mustipher, Penn State

DE B.J. Ojulari, LSU

DE Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State

LB DeMarvion Overshown, Texas

S Gervarrius Owens, Houston

LB Deshawn Pace, Cincinnati

LB Ivan Pace, Cincinnati

LB James Patterson, Buffalo

CB Clark Phillips, Utah

LB Bumper Pool, Arkansas

CB Joey Porter, Penn State

CB Eli Ricks, Alabama

CB Kelee Ringo, Georgia

S Jammie Robinson, Florida State

LB Vince Sanford, Air Force

LB Noah Sewell, Oregon

LB Trenton Simpson, Clemson

S JL Skinner, Boise State

CB Cam Smith, South Carolina

LB Nolan Smith, Georgia

DE Javon Solomon, Troy

LB Omar Speights, Oregon State

DE Josiah Stewart, Coastal Carolina

DT Dante Stills, West Virginia

DE Ron, Stone Jr., Washington State

CB D’Jordan Strong, Coastal Carolina

DT Junior Tafuna, Utah

DT Leonard Taylor, Miami

LB Drake Thomas, N.C. State

LB Henry To’oto’o, Alabama

DT Tuli Tuipulotu, USC

LB Payton Wilgar, BYU

S Evan Williams, Fresno State

S Divaad Wilson, UCF

S Rashad Wisdom, UTSA

CB Charles Woods, West Virginia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: